Lord, thank you…

I was scrolling down my news feed on Facebook and came across a meme. The meme read, “If video games have taught me anything, it’s that if you encounter enemies, then you’re going the right way.” I don’t even play video games, but as soon as I read that, it spoke to my spirit.

On Friday, December 11, 2015, I graduated from Florida Agricultural and Mechanical University with a Bachelors of Science in Music Industry. For those of you who may not understand what my studies were about, allow me to clarify. I studied music and the business of music. I am a student of the Music Industry. [SN: I know that in my Haitian culture unless you study to be a doctor, lawyer, nurse or something along those lines then your degree isn’t really worth anything. Despite this, I strongly believe that God has given me talents in the areas of Music & Business. Because of this, I am not worried about the future.] I acquired this degree in 2 1/2 years when it takes 4 years to complete. I also graduated as the top Honors student of all of my fellow music colleagues.

The course to this accomplishment was strenuous and difficult. Along the way I encountered roommates who were out to get me and peers who despised my mere existence. I encountered limiting financial situations and moral dilemma. I experienced mental, physical and emotional fatigue. I identified a void within me caused by the absence of feeling secure in the love of my earthly father. I was fighting a serious spiritual war within that I had yet to recognize. Though very short, my undergraduate collegiate tenure possessed a plethora of hardships.

“If you’re under attack, it’s because your blessing is close. Thieves only come to loaded vaults. Stay encouraged.” I saw this post on Instagram and immediately tagged a dear friend of mine, so that she too could read it. She has witnessed some of the hardships I speak of and understood the magnitude of this post. In spite of it all, God allowed this time of my life to birth the most important actualization in my life. Spiritual breakthrough took place. A relationship with Jesus was conceived. A true desire to get to know who he is soon overcame. I had the privilege of experiencing a taste of peace from God. I grew up in the church and always heard of people speak of the peace God gave them. A peace that they couldn’t find elsewhere. I not only felt that peace, I lived it. My faith grew exponentially. A baby was born. That baby is called Conviction. My conviction to live for God was born, and just as babies grow into toddlers who in turn grow into adolescents and so forth, my conviction is growing. I must be sure to feed it spiritual nutrition and stay true to my King.

Leave a Reply

